fishingtime starts then cancels EA UFC 2 video contest

fishingtime promised $20 in prizes for the winner of a video contest on his personal subreddit, r/EASportsUFC2. Users had to subscribe to his subreddit and then submit their videos to the contest thread. The contest was suddenly “put on hold” after the contest was reported to reddit.

contesthold
The EA UFC 2 video contest was put on hold after being reported to reddit.
contestdeleted
Several users had already submitted EA UFC 2 videos to the contest for the chance to win a $20 gift card.
Author: gdfishingtime

I publish historical biographical information about fishingtime and his dealings with the MMA video gaming community and the general community as a whole

2 thoughts on “fishingtime starts then cancels EA UFC 2 video contest”

  1. I feel it’s time the people of the MMA Fighting Community along with whatever followers Damon Gesell aka “Fishingtime ” has know the truth about this man. I use the term man very loosely.
    It all started many years ago when I joined a site associated with the THQ MMA games. I joined this site under the identity of “Glassjaw”. Immediately I noticed Fishingtime as he seemed to post almost constantly and in every thread. As I recall he had close to 17000 posts on there in the short period of time the site had been around. You read that right. 17000 posts 😐

    Being the logical person I am I immediately assumed there’s no way this person held down full time employment. I immediately noticed Fishingtime would chastise posters right in threads throwing the TOS in their face. 90% of the time these posts were not directed at him. So I asked him one day if he was the Moderator. After some evasive responses and weak justification he admitted he was in fact not a Moderator.

    This I believe got the ball rolling for Fishingtime’s dislike for me as I had made him look a tad foolish for his overzealous behaviour. Little did I know he had already begun a slanderous campaign behind the scenes against me.

    He had immediately begun pm’ing his pal and buddy Yari complaining about me. Yes that same Yari many of you know as a Moderator on EA. The 2nd incident which I believe led to a further decay in our interaction involved a immature teenage poster named ArScrubs on THQ. Of course at the time I had no idea his age nor do I/ did I care.

    I was in a thread one day discussing PED’s in MMA. Which we all now know has become a large issue. Back then it was more hush/hush. I pointed out that Sean Sherk was a known steroid user based on 3 points. His physique. The acne all over his back. A failed drug test.
    Immediately this ArScrubs poster ( who was a Sean Sherk fan ) went into a profanity laced tirade directed at me. Fishingtime proceeded to join the attack and accuse me of ” harrassement”. Apparently I was “harassing ” ArScrubs because he was just a teenager which in some bizarre universe means I’m not allowed to have an opinion on PED users in MMA.

    From there it progressed to Fishingtime following me into numerous threads baiting me into arguments so he could turn around and PM Yari and get me banned.

    I had a long very informative discussion with Yari via pm at that time. He admitted Fishingtime was annoying, had too much time on his hands and had been pming him constantly to ban me.

    At this point I openly questioned Fishingtime about that along with his 17k posts and the fact he was seemingly on the board 24/7. After a tonne of excuses and evasive behaviour he finally conceded he was unemployed. I couldn’t keep the reasons / excuses straight though. First it was carpel tunnel/ arthritis. ( maybe don’t game and type on forums so much ) Then it was he didn’t have a car and taking a bus anywhere for gainfull employment was at least an hour. Then it was he took medication for anxiety.

    Eventually Fishingtime got his way his baiting me led to me crossing the line in threads. At that point I didn’t care. It was obvious Fishingtime had the backing of Yari and could skirt the TOS while throwing it in other’s faces…..

    Fast forward to now and I’ll simply say this. I’m willing to bet Fishingtime still doesn’t work based on the time spent on forums. Yet he has time to make a blog, YouTube tips videos and participate in Podcasts. So if you’re an American citizen reading this who gets up 5 days or more a week to bust your ass at a job ask yourself this…

    That 20 dollars Fishingtime is currently giving away on his precious Sub Reddit in an EA KO Contest. Did your tax dollars pay for that? Along with him bring able to own both a PS4 and an XB1 along with the latest video games.
    I mean he actually went so far as to say he PURCHASED 2 COPIES of EA UFC 2 to show his support.

    I can’t speak on the United States but welfare / Social Assistance sure doesn’t pay that well here in Canada.

    One final note. Fishingtime has accused me of calling his house and living in Ontario Canada. I’ve told him many times I live on the West Coast of Canada. Ontario is East…..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is indeed time for the truth to come out about fishingtime.

    I signed up to the EA UFC forums in 2014 as a respected, undefeated and undisputed champion of the game. My intentions were pure; to help and educate my fellow fighters with lessons on fight strategy, technique and philosophy. fishingtime, the self-styled spiritual leader of the forums, felt threatened by my presence and was seemingly jealous of the adulation of my many friends on the forums. Adulation which he so dearly desired but had never felt. Despite this, I tried to befriend and counsel fishingime. For a short time, I would even say we were friends. He actually confessed to me in a PM conversation that he was still a virgin and struggles with his sexuality.

    Around the time I started my own EA UFC fight promotion (pepsi promotions), fishingtime had stopped taking his anti-anxiety medication because he was experiencing an erectile dysfunction side effect. fishingtime went 0-12 (including 3 straight first round KO losses to RustyTrombone) in pepsi promotions and I had no choice but to hand him his virtual walking papers. fishingtime flew into a rage and accused me of deliberately matching him against opponents who knew how to easily counter his novice spam heavy fighting style.

    From that day on fishingtime made my life a living hell. I couldn’t as much as read a thread without fishingtime chastising and bullying me. Eventually, I worked up the courage to challenge fishingtime to a cage fight, with the loser leaving the forum forever. As expected, fishingtime agreed on the condition that I agree to meet his ridiculous terms which included such things as appearing shirtless on a “fight poster” with him, which he would personally design; have a “face-off” on his podcast; and compete in a handicap match against him and his brother on WWE 2K14.

    Naturally, I refused to agree to these terms. As fishingtime was well aware that I was at this time a minor in the eyes of law, I suggested that fishingtime had more sinister intentions than designing a fight poster when he requested a shirtless self-portrait photo from me. fishingtime then sent me several angry and threatening personal messages on the forum, demanding to know “who I had been talking to” and “what else ‘they’ had told me about him” and warning that he would release my personal information on the Internet if I suggested any such thing again. Afraid for my life, I agreed and was promptly permanently banned, without reason, by Yari (forum moderator and suspected boyfriend of fishingtime).

    With the recent exposures in the news and bravery shown by victims of cyber bullying and other forms of abuse, I am now prepared to stand up against fishingtime and to expose the truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

